Skip to main content

Teachers of Promise

  • Teachers of Promise 2015
    Teachers of Promise 2015  From the left: Wade Whitehead '94, Sarah Gaspari, Ashley Jones, Kristin Kurtz, Jo Lynne DeMary ’68, Ed.D. ‘82, Lindy Johnson, Assistant Professor at W&M, Sarah Clark, Laura Lay '95 and Heather Hoskins.  
Photo - of -

Five teacher candidates were selected for and attended the twelfth Annual Teachers of Promise Institute March 20-21 in Richmond, Virginia.

The Teachers of Promise Foundation was established to support the work of individuals, organizations, and teams who seek to discover, identify, celebrate, and encourage high caliber teachers-to-be. The Foundation’s purpose is to discover, recognize, and grow the next generation of great teachers and its initiatives have created new and exciting opportunities for practicing educators to impact the future of their profession.

Those attending the Teachers of Promise Institute from William & Mary were:  Ashley Jones, Special Education, Sarah Gaspari – Elementary Education, Kristin Kurtz – Elementary Education, Sarah Clark – Secondary English, Heather Hoskins – Secondary Math. Lindy Johnson, Assistant Professor of English Education, was the William & Mary Representative.

The institute was created by Wade Whitehead ’94. Another graduate of William & Mary, Laura Lay ‘95, a 2005 Milken Educator and Social Studies Department Chair with the Chesterfield County Public Schools, presented “Secrets of a University Supervisor.” In her round table discussion session, a university supervisor for pre-service teachers provided methods and ideas for maximizing the student teaching experience.