Skip to main content

Megan Tschannen-Moran named for Plumeri Award

Professor Megan Tschannen-MoranIn recognition of their exemplary achievements in teaching, research and service, 20 William & Mary professors are being honored this year with the university’s prestigious Plumeri Award for Faculty Excellence. Among them is School of Education Professor Megan Tschannen-Moran.

The award was established in 2009 with a generous gift from Joseph J. Plumeri II ’66, D.P.S. ’11. It provides $10,000 to honored faculty members to use for research, summer salaries or other stipends associated with scholarly endeavor. A total of 114 faculty members have been honored with the Plumeri Award since its inception.

Megan Tschannen-Moran, Professor of Education, epitomizes the competence, passion, commitment and effectiveness of an exceptional faculty member. She teaches courses in the Educational Policy, Planning and Leadership Program, and is highly versatile and creative in using a variety of instructional approaches across her content courses, research seminars and field-based internships. Since 2002, Tschannen-Moran has chaired 28 dissertation committees and served on many others. Students appreciate her constructive mentoring, timely feedback and helpful guidance for publishing and presenting their research. Tschannen-Moran is also among the most productive scholars in the School of Education. With her research focused on constructs of trust, self-efficacy and organizational climate, she has published three books, 13 book chapters and 37 articles. She has presented numerous papers at professional conferences. Tschannen-Moran also contributes greatly to university governance and service to the profession.
She currently serves as the chair of the Academic Affairs Committee and provides valuable insight as part of the Faculty Executive Committee. At the national level, Tschannen-Moran served as a secretary for Division A of the American Educational Research Association and is active in the University Council for Educational Administration. She is the recipient of the 2015 AERA Division A Excellence in Research Award.