Skip to main content

Governor Names Several Local Schools among best in Virginia

Williamsburg/James City County Public Schools were named among top Virginia public schools for excellence.  Six of those schools' leaders are School of Education grads.  They are:

Bruce H. Brelsford, M.Ed. ‘82, Principal
Clara Byrd Baker, 2010 Governor's Award for Educational Excellence

Nancy Catano '83, M.Ed '98, Principal
Norge Elementary School, Excellence Award

Andy Jacobs, M.Ed. '94, Principal
Matoaka Elementary School, 2010 Governor's Award for Educational Excellence

Kathleen Noonan, M.Ed. '99, Principal
Matthew Whaley School, Excellence Award

Chuck Wagner, Ed.D. '08, Principal
Jamestown High School, Excellence Award

Cathy Vazquez, M.Ed. '02, Assistant Principal
Rawls Byrd Elementary School, Competence to Excellence Award

In York County Public Schools eleven schools were selected.  Among those with principals holding School of Education degrees are:

Antonia Fox, M.Ed. '05, Principal
York High School, Competence to Excellence Award

Mary R. Ahearn M.Ed. '04, Principal
Magruder Elementary School, Competence to Excellence Award

Paul Hopkins, M.Ed. '07, Principal
Grafton High School, Competence to Excellence Award

Mary Lugo M.Ed. '04, Principal
Mt. Vernon Elementary School, Excellence Award

Melody Camm, M.A.Ed, ‘01 Ed.D '09, Assistant Principal
Grafton Bethel Elementary School, Excellence Award

ClassroomGov. Tim Kaine announced  January 12 that 153 Virginia public schools earned the 2010 Governor's Award for Educational Excellence. The award is the highest honor under the Virginia Index of Performance (VIP) incentive program created by the Board of Education in 2007. Among the winners were two schools in Williamsburg-James City County (Clara Byrd Baker and Matoaka elementaries) and one school in York County (Seaford Elementary).  Governor Names Several Local Schools Among State's Best

"My administration has made it a priority to move beyond merely meeting standards to truly encouraging excellent performance in our schools," Kaine said in a release. "I'm pleased to recognize the many Virginia educators and students who stepped up the challenge of exceeding the minimum expectations of the Standards of Learning to receive the coveted VIP awards this year."

To qualify for the Governor's award, schools must meet all state and federal achievement benchmarks for at least two consecutive years and achieve applicable goals for each school level, such as elementary reading, enrollment in Algebra I by eighth grade, enrollment in college-level courses, high school graduation, attainment of advanced diplomas, increased attainment of career and industry certifications and participation in the Virginia Preschool Initiative. Schools also earn bonus points for other measures, such as the Governor's Nutrition and Physical Activity Scorecard.

The Board of Education also announced its Excellence Award winners. The Excellence Awards are the second-tier honor in the VIP program; winning schools and divisions have met all state and federal accountability benchmarks for at least two consecutive years and have made significant progress toward goals for increased student achievement and expanded educational opportunities.

The Excellence Award winners in the Historic Triangle included: Jamestown High School, Matthew Whaley Elementary and Norge Elementary in Williamsburg/James City County and Bethel Manor Elementary, Coventry Elementary, Grafton Bethel Elementary, Mount Vernon Elementary, Tabb Elementary, Tabb High and Waller Mill Elementary in York County.

The Competence to Excellence Awards, the third tier of honors, were awarded to Rawls Byrd Elementary in WJCC and Dare Elementary, Grafton High, Magruder Elementary and York High in York County.