Skip to main content

Dissertation Recognition for Three SOE graduates

Shannon Chance, Sara Miller and Karen Richardson honored

The International Society for Education Planning honored three recent School of Education graduates at their annual conference in October.

Dr. Judith Patterson and Dr. Shannon ChanceShannon Chance, Ph.D. '10

(EPPL/Higher Education) Chair was Dr. Michael DiPaola, received the outstanding dissertation award. 

Shannon earned both her Bachelor's and Master's degrees of Architecture from Virginia Tech.  Currently she is a faculty member of Architecture at Hampton University where she is highly regarded by both the faculty and her colleagues.  She has co-authored a referred journal article and has presented at several national and state conferences in higher education. Shannon has effectively bridged her previous research experiences to her current doctoral work, culminating in her dissertation investigating higher education architecture and environmentally sound practices. "Her dedication to good teaching practices, her work in the international realm and her solid research skills make her a model student and one clearly worthy of receiving the award for excellence," said Dean Virginia McLaughlin upon presenting her with the 2010 Dean's Award for Excellence .

Dr. Sara MillerSara Miller, Ed.D. '10

(EPPL/CurriculumLeadership) Chair, Dr. James Beers

Dr. Miller graduated with Ed.D. in May.  Her dissertation was on the impact of literacy coaching on teacher's instructional practices.  She works as a Teacher Consultant in the Elementary Language Arts Department for Chesterfield County Public Schools.




Dr. Karen RichardsonKaren Richardson '84, Ph.D. '09

(EPPL/Curriculum and Educational Technology) Chair, Dr. Judith Harris, received Citations of Honor. 

Dr. Richardson earned her Bachelor's degree in English from the College of William and Mary and her master's in English from West Chester University.  Her passion for learning is both obvious and contagious, the depth and breadth of her knowledge in Educational Technology and related fields are significant, and her capacity for bridging and interweaving theory, content, pedagogy, and technology is inspiring. In 2009 she keynoted a regional educational technology conference in Ashland, Va.  She has been actively involved in the leadership of the Virginia Society for Technology in Education, serving on its Board of Directors and as a Board of Directors' Chair.  She has published and presented several works.   In 2009 she was the recipient of the Dean's Award for Excellence.

Dr. Brenda Williams joined Drs. Chance and Richardson for the award presentations and conference session where they were able to deliver papers on their research.

Photos: Dr. Judith Patterson, awards committee member from Kennesaw State University, presents the awards.